The Vyne Movie Review: Ate, Prayed, Loved It!


Last Saturday I decided to get some r&r with my sister-friend Gigi. What better way to do that than over dinner and a movie? Since “Eat, Pray, Love” was the talk of the weekend it was only fitting that we partake of some fab cuisine before checking out the movie, which is exactly what we did. If you’ve never eaten at Seasons 52 before, take my word for it, the food is fantastic. The menu includes yummy seasonal food and the added bonus of a different chef’s special each of the 52 weeks in a year. (hence the name, Seasons 52). After savoring grilled rainbow trout, cedar plank salmon, goat cheese stuffed ravioli, shrimp stuffed mushrooms, Parmesan rosemary flatbread and mini decadent desserts, we headed to the theater.

While I haven’t read the book, I was eager to see if the film would adequately translate what readers of the book have raved about.  In my opinion, the film overall was nicely done. Julia Roberts was her usual bubbly, funny, emotional self. I particularly enjoyed the “pray” and the “love” portions of her journey as they overtly but not obnoxiously provided the viewer with some useful self-help nuggets, a la “sending light and love and letting it go.” Likewise, while Viola Davis was only on screen for a short time, she lit it up as she normally does. The film was definitely a “chick flick” and perfect to see when you’re feeling some kind of way about your love life…or just life in general. If nothing else, it can help you to jump-start your own “life reset” button. Only draw back was the length of the film…a bit too long in sections where it didn’t need to be. So all in all, I give “Eat, Pray, Love” 3.5 out of 4 berries on The Vyne.

Did you see the film? If so, let us know what you thought of it.

1 Comment

Filed under movies

One response to “The Vyne Movie Review: Ate, Prayed, Loved It!

  1. Cheryl

    Several girlfriends and I went to see “Eat, Pray, Love” tonight and loved it!! We also coupled the occasion, with dinner afterwards, at a very nice Italian restaurant. Our mouths were watering after seeing the spaghetti and meatballs dish Liz had in Italy. The food at Biaggi’s in Naperville did not disappoint us!! I had the lobster with black fettucini in a lobster sauce. It was scrumptious with a glass of Chardonnay. Oh, back to the movie…. I had read the book as one of the selections for our Book Club awhile ago. The movie did not disappoint me. I thought that a great job was done casting the characters. The guys were “hunks.” Liz did shed many a tear but I think her emotions reinforced the transformation she was having in her life. I loved the wisdom of Richard and Ketut was prophetic. I have been blessed to have traveled to Italy, India and Bali. I have spent the most time in Bali and it is as beautiful and serene as was portrayed on the screen. It is a paradise and the people are phenomenal. I stll keep in touch with a friend I met there almost 10 years ago.It was interesting to see that Brad Pitt was one of the Executive Producers. We had a great evening!!!

Leave a Reply

