Travel Tips for Jet Setters


Now more than ever, women are taking on careers that require them to live and/or travel domestic and abroad on a regular basis. With security measures continuing to tighten, the experience of traveling can sometimes be a bit stressful. So we asked some of our loyal Vyne Readers, who jet set regularly, to share with us their tips that make travel run smoothly and stress free. Take a read and let us know what your travel tips are too!

“I print out my boarding pass at home and check the board for gate changes before [walking through] security. I [also] ask for bottled water (kindly) as I pass through first class.  Then I don’t have to worry about an open cup or when then the flight attendants will serve the drinks.” – Steffanie Edwards, Energy Consultant.

“When I travel internationally, I take advantage of the long flights and sleep!!! If I am not asleep, I make sure I have my iPod, good reading materials and crossword puzzles. Singapore has one of the best [airports]! They are also the best airline (next to Southwest). Every time I travel, it’s an experience and I love it!! If you get a chance to go to Bali, Indonesia, do so!! It is paradise and usually you have to stay overnight in Singapore. I would suggest scheduling your flight from there to Bali later in the day so you can enjoy the beautiful city. [Lastly], if you miss your flight, don’t sweat it – it means you probably needed the time and God had that in your plan.” -Dr. Cheryl Richardson, President, CBR Consulting, LLC

“Pack a lightweight outfit in your carry-on in case luggage is lost. Vacuum sealing clothes is a great option, but rolling (depending on luggage size) may be a better option. If traveling by yourself, send out a call for friends of friends who are locals and may be up for a meet-up. Email a scanned copy of your passport to yourself and a friend in case it gets lost. Always pack a small flashlight. …and talk to strangers.” -Melissa Creary

“Being the lady that I am :-), I always travel with 2 pashminas. I use these as blankets because I wouldn’t dare use those icky plane-provided blankets! I also ensure my carry-on has the essentials: napkins, tissue, ear plugs, eye mask, headphones, socks, hand sanitizer, lotion and snacks. Whew, I think that’s all.” -LeRon McKendrick

My strongest suggestions…pack ahead so you don’t forget anything. Weigh your bag before you get to the airport to avoid overage charges. Become part of the main mileage programs – One World, Star Alliance or Sky Team to ensure you get credit for your travel. All those miles add up to great perks!” -Karen Brown

“ Who has time to fumble with printed itineraries? I don’t. I travel to Antigua once a month and my time is precious. So I use Worldmate. It’s a free application that allows you to log in your trips, shows you the weather for where you’re arriving, allows you to book hotel/cars/etc., gets you great discounts, tells you the terminal where you will arrive, and much more. You can even book meetings and sync it with your outlook calendar. The application is free and is available for blackberry, iphone, nokia, android.” -Lynnise P. Asst Director of Financial Aid

“I recently discovered that if you put your laptop in a microfiber laptop sleeve you don’t have to take it out before putting in the bins to run through security. This way it saves you the step of having to unpack it and it stays protected.” – Veronica R., Marketing Manager

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

