The Vyne Movie Review: SATC2


After a relaxing afternoon in NYC, partaking of tea and light Japanese fare at Franchia followed by creamy all-natural yogurt from Red Mango, we decided to check out Sex and the City 2. While this was Keesha’s second time seeing the film, it was Kailei’s first. So in the spirit of Siskel and Ebert, we thought we’d share our separate reviews of the films.

Keesha’s Review

Generally, sequels fall way short of the original. So I went into this film with little to no expectations that it would be good. That said, I’m happy to report that it more than exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed the fact that SATC2 seemed to do a “double click” on the dimensions and complexities of the characters. By that I mean, we got to go deeper into the emotions of the characters and their relationships in a way that we haven’t seen before. Hear me out on this one. We’ve always seen Carrie chasing after a relationship but rarely saw how she is when she’s in one that’s actually sustaining. We’ve always seen Miranda as the hard-nosed attorney but rarely saw the other sides of her or the dissonance she experiences as a full time working mother. We’ve always seen Big as this aloof, unavailable, commitment phob, but rarely explored the possibility that he’s not that way inside of a relationship. And Charlotte’s always been the buttoned up traditionalist but rarely have we had the chance to see that fall away. I liked that this movie played with the expected to reveal a bit of the unexpected in each of the characters. And speaking of unexpected, was Liza doing her thing or was Liza doing her thing?!? My only criticism is that it was a bit long but all in all, I enjoyed the film as much as I did the first, if not more. Out of 4 berries, I give SATC2 3.5 berries on The Vyne.

Kailei’s Review

I honestly was slightly apprehensive to watch this movie. To me, the first one was so good – one of my favorite chick flicks ever – and my fear was that the sequel would be a cheesy knock-off. I mean, an all expense paid girls trip to Abu Dhabi and a run-in with Aiden? It seemed too outlandish. But to my surprise, and despite some of the criticism I had heard from others, I thought it was pretty good! However, to me it was not as good as the first. It didn’t have the emotional highs that made me laugh until I cried or the lows that made me go into the ugly cry. However, it was an entertaining movie that made me love the girls all over again, and even showed me pieces of myself in each of them. Carrie and Big were going through challenges that real married couples face. Miranda had an unexpected epiphany that changed her life. Charlotte let her seemingly unbreakable facade down. And Samantha, well, she was Samantha! All in all, I enjoyed it. My favorite moment: Liza Minnelli and her unexpected musical number (I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t seen it). My least favorite: the girls’ cheesy karaoke performance of “I am Woman.” I give SATC2 3 out of 4 berries on The Vyne.

So tell us: what did you think about Sex and the City 2?

1 Comment

Filed under movies, Uncategorized

One response to “The Vyne Movie Review: SATC2

  1. Cheryl

    I loved SATC2 as much as I did the first. A group of us attended and then had dinner afterwards to discuss it. I think Carrie made a major faux pas by spilling the beans to Big!! Samantha needs therapy to find out the root cause of her free wheeling sexual escapades. We are looking forward to a “Girls Only” trip to Abu Dhabi and Dubai in 2011. If you are interested, please let us know at The Vyne and start saving your pennies!!!

Leave a Reply

