The Vyne Movie Review: Just Wright


It seems like ever since the late nineties, we’ve all been craving for that next great romantic love story to knock us off our feet the way Love Jones and Love & Basketball did. About a week ago I went to see “Just Wright” with Vyne contributor Gigi of the Yummy Librarian. While neither of us said it, we were both secretly hoping to be swept away by loving, sappy one-liners weaved throughout a hopelessly romantic plot. So we grabbed our popcorn and vitamin waters and settled in.

I’ll spare you the suspense and say that I “liked” the film. I didn’t “love” it. I didn’t “hate” it. I “liked” it. I thought Common, with his chiseled basketball player bod, did a good job playing the unexpected good guy/leading man. Likewise, the always stunning Paula Patton succeeded in plucking my last nerve as the shallow, self-absorbed cousin to Queen Latifah’s leading lady character, Leslie Wright.

While I think Queen Latifah is an extraordinarily talented musician/songstress and a well above average actress, something about the chemistry between her and Common’s character just didn’t work for me. And I wanted it to…I really wanted it to. The romantic scenes had potential but the lack of chemistry between her and Common left me and Gigi unsatisfied and at times, dare I say, wishing they would have chosen someone else for the leading lady role.

Now, will I still be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD to add to my collection, yes of course. But as for a rating, “Just Wright” gets 2 out of 4 berries from The Vyne.

Did you check out this movie? If so, let us know what you think.

2 Comments

Filed under movies, Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Vyne Movie Review: Just Wright

  1. Wrissa

    Yeah my mom and I went to see it a couple of weeks ago. I thought it was good too. Not the best romantic comedy but not the worse. I just wasn’t as sold as I could have been and should have been as romantic comedies are my thing. Common was stiff. Maybe it was on purpose, but he came off as the typical athlete who wasn’t the smartest in high school but wasn’t dumb either. And it was clear basketball was his forte. I think maybe it had to do with the lines as well. Some of Queen’s lines sounded so cheesy that it made me umfortable. Overall, it did make me go aww so it wasn’t that bad.

  2. Pingback: Watch Just Wright Online Stream | Watch TV Movies Online

Leave a Reply

