Dropping Some “L-Bs” With P90X


By Keesha Boyd

Probably the only positive thing about the weird weather we’ve been having this year is the fact that the lack of sustaining high temperatures has bought us all some time to still get “beach body ready”. While there are a lot of ways to do this, I tend to enjoy doing activities that are challenging and have a clear goal at the end. Recently my big brother and his best friend decided to tackle the increasingly popular P90X. You’ve seen the infomercials, they’re usually sandwiched somewhere in between Hip Hop Abs and some miracle juicer. My brother’s results have inspired me and given that I’m never one to back down from a challenge, I’ve decided to give it a try.

I’m only on day two of ninety and I’m embarrassed to say that P90X is kicking my rump all up and down my condo!!!! It was as if I was an 800lb woman trying to enter a fitness contest!! I kept thinking to myself, between huffs and puffs, “Keesha, you’re an athlete! Get it together girl!” But my body was saying, “Keesha, you USED to be an athlete! Sit your behind down somewhere!”

Despite my privately humiliating first day of working out with P90X, I’m going to keep it up and here’s why, once you get past the pain, it’s actually an engaging and comprehensive workout plan that really gets results. The box set comes with 12 DVDs, resistance band, complete nutrition guide and a complete fitness guide to record progress, learn moves and explain the 90-day workout plan. Better still, each day you’re doing a different routine so the workout doesn’t get boring and you’re body won’t get a chance to plateau. And when you start feeling like you want to quick, just flip through the book to see all of the insanely inspiring before and after pictures from others who successfully completed the program.

Okay Vyne Readers…if you’re ready to drop some “L-Bs”, step up to the P90X challenge. Purchase your DVDs and join me on this 90-day journey. If you’re already doing it, let us know how it’s going for you. With a program like this, it’s always helpful to have a community of support. Let’s get “beach body” ready Vyne Readers!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Wellness

2 responses to “Dropping Some “L-Bs” With P90X

  1. Brett

    Hey congrats on takin the challenge sis… you ran a half marathon lst year so this should be a breeze for you …Bring it!!!

  2. Awesome! Nice Article. Very informable. Definatly will check back in. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

