Vyne Reader Poem: A Prayer


In honor of National Poetry Month, we are featuring a profound piece by Vyne reader, Michelle Wonsley, entitled “A Prayer.”

A Prayer

I can feel our lives slipping away from us,
Oh God,
from both of us and through our tiny hands – away.

I can feel the weight of mortality
rushing at me with full force contact
–the push of life’s large ebbs and flows, at once.
At once I am knocked over and yet buoyed to the surface
–carried to shore and carried to sea.

I can feel the darkness
looming out just beyond the horizon, beyond the beyond.

I cannot see the start and stop
I cannot see beginning or end

I cannot grip what is slipping away from me,

Oh God.
I do not know which way I’m facing
I cannot read the starry sky,
Oh God.
I never could, but then again,
I never thought I’d have to

I cannot breathe
I cannot breathe
I cannot breathe
Oh God.
–my chest an angry chamber
–inner sanctum beating hollow

The resonance of solitude is
unwelcome in this world.
I want to find the shore,
Oh God,
to see the tide receding,
to know that I am anchored safely
in the harbor of your love.

I feel the living rhythm of the sea song now,
Oh God.
The gentle lull, the violent crash
The ebb and flow of masterful love.
I breathe the salted mist of prayer,
remembering the vastness of the ocean.

It doesn’t scare me now, the bigger you and smaller me – the smaller we.
Together we bob in and out of this,
feeling somehow at peace,

even as we feel ourselves continuing to slip away,
through our tiny hands.

feeling somehow at peace,

even as we feel ourselves continuing to slip away,
through our tiny hands

Leave a comment

Filed under Art and Culture, Vyne Reader Spotlight

Leave a Reply

