Spotlight On: Tracey Ferguson


By Kailei Richardson

I first heard about Tracey Ferguson back in 2006 while doing media research on black women back in business school. Tracey started Jones magazine, a fashion and lifestyle shopping guide for affluent black women in Houston in 2005.  Months after I heard about Jones, a friend introduced me to Tracey, not knowing that I was already familiar with her magazine. I was so intrigued by Jones that I ended up doing an independent study on the magazine. The thought of having a high fashion magazine for black women on the newsstands was exciting, and it was quite clear that Jones was bigger than Houston.

Tracey and I stayed in touch and have become friends over the years. Her story is interesting, yet tragic. She graduated from Abilene Christian University with a BA and MA in Communications and later experienced the devastating loss of her second husband who suddenly died from a heart attack shortly after they were married. Despite her tragedies, Tracey has proven to be resilient. A strong mother of two teenagers, she somehow finds time to run a magazine, create a new show, and travel the world as often as she can. Not to mention, her extraordinary style can’t be denied, as when you meet her, you just assume she is a celebrity due to her awe-inspiring eye for fashion.

When Tracey shared with me a reality TV show treatment called “Keeping Up with the Joneses” back in late 2007, it was clear it was destined to happen. It was just a matter of time before Centric (the BET J and VH-1 Soul collab. network) targeting a more upscale black audience, would launch and be the perfect fit for  “Keeping Up with the Joneses” (the name, by the way, was picked way before anyone heard of E!’s  “Keeping Up with the Kardashians”). The “docu-soap” will focus on Tracey, her talented teenagers Kendall and Josh, and the Jones staff as they re-launch the quarterly magazine nationwide.

So, will “Keeping Up with the Joneses” be the new show we “Jones” for? Will Jones magazine become the Vogue or In Style for black women? Check out the premiere of “Keeping Up with the Joneses” tonight, Thursday, April 8th on Centric TV network and pick up Jones magazine on April 15th on news stands everywhere — and tell us what you think! Regardless, we congratulate Tracey and Jones for bringing more diverse images of black women to television and print.

6 Comments

Filed under Phenomenal Women, TV

6 responses to “Spotlight On: Tracey Ferguson

  1. Rev. Dr. Tonya

    I saw this lady on TV and was more concerned with her being so devoted to her late husband…it was awesome to be able to feel her love as well as her pain. I live in Texas and I would love to view her publication. However, I cannot locate it in San Antonio. I do not want to spend $16.00 for 4 issues. I want to encourage her to follow her dream.

  2. I just saw her on The Monique Show! Definitely a class act, lovely woman. I will be researching more on Ms. Ferguson.

  3. Tina Jones

    I watched this show, and it was alright, nothing exciting. I do like the fact that she is intelligent and not ignorant and unprofessional. She definitely demands a lot, and that can be good and bad, but as an entrepreneur she has just the right amount of tenacity.

    She seems like a bit of a snob, for example when she was planning the luncheon, she was more picky about the flower type, however, she should have been focusing on being warmer and grateful for what she has accomplished…..people do not really like her.

    Just my opinion

  4. Alexis S.

    You saw her on a tv show and immediately you knew people didn’t like her, even though you don’t know her personally? Some nerve. I’m currently watching my first episode and I find it interesting that she’s running a black owned independent business. A magazine at that which start and fail, to see her succeed is AWESOME! Before I watched the show I thought this show was going to be about bourgeoius black people but Im glad to see that its more than meets the eye.

  5. Linda Ruffins

    This is one of the most positive, conservative and quite enjoyable reality shows on television today.

  6. Michelle Harris

    I saw a lot in her that I do see in myself, being a young black woman, I am trying to get my foot in the door as a writer, I have self published my first book “The Perfect Nightlife” and I do see myself to be classy, at least for my age…lol but I love to see especially black women doing their thing. Especially when you have the black men being highlighted on their athletic abilities as athletes. You don’t get to hear to many black women outside of (singers, actors,etc) doing our thing. So much love and congrats to Tracey, I hope to be a polished, and classy women like her one day.

Leave a Reply

