Whitney Houston: On the Comeback!


Whitney Houston

Whitney Houston

By Keesha Boyd

This past weekend, while hanging out with a good girlfriend in Chicago, I had the opportunity to finally listen to the new Whitney album, “I Look To You”. Being the recessionista that I am, I wanted to make sure I heard it before purchasing…just in case. And I have to say, it didn’t disappoint!! I for one, love a good comeback story. So here are a few interpretations of my favorite tracks on the album:

Track 1: Million Dollar Bill – Upbeat 70’s kind of vibe. A good “girlfriends dancing in the living room with a glass of wine” song — a la Waiting to Exhale, Two Can Play That Game, etc.

Track 3: Call You Tonight – Mid tempo and melodic. A “when we first met” type of vibe.

Track 4: I Look to You – Spiritually inspirational.

Track 5: Like I Never Left – Fun, “sing-able” song that you could dedicate to the one you want back in your life.

Track 6: A Song For You – A beautiful cover of the Donny Hathaway classic.

Track 7: I Didn’t Know My Own Strength – Breakout your tissues! Definitely an “I made it through some rough times” type of song. You’ll cry even if you haven’t!

Track 8: Worth It – A sweet lover’s song.

Track 10: I Got You – For the “Mr. Big” in your life (a la Sex In The City)

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

